The Day Democracy Almost Died

Aslynn Roe 🐈
6 min readJan 9, 2022

Excerpt from Letters To My Daughter

The Capital Building with caution tape around the perimeter. Trump is broke, news, politics, insurrection, fraud, liar, democracy, January, election, vote, poor, NY, con, America, followers, obstruction, treason, fake
Photo by Andy Feliciotti on Unsplash

January 6, 2022

Just for the record, I had no intention of watching the news today, to see the videos of the January 6th insurrection. It was one of America’s worst day in history and I am trying hard to forget it. Some describe it as a “Near death experience” of our Democracy. A journalist reflecting on the feeling in DC today says there is a “Heavy…

--

--

Aslynn Roe 🐈

I am a listener of culture, history, media, and politics. Follow me, and we will go somewhere. Finding out where is half the fun!