THIS DAY IN HISTORY

Norman Lear: The Father Of The Sitcom

The most influential TV Producer of all time has died

Aslynn Roe 🐈
3 min readDec 6, 2023

--

Photo of TV producer and writer Norman Lear.
Norman Lear photo credit New York Times

Television icon Norman Lear has died today at the age of 101. He was, by far, the most influential producer of comedy shows ever in the history of Television.

For a great rundown of Lear’s accomplishments, take a look at this article from the New York Times:

I remember when All in the Family came into my family. This sitcom was unlike any other television show, as it was incredibly funny, but each episode made me think about the world around me.

I wasn’t even 10 years old when it debuted. I remember being so excited for it each week on TV and actually telling my parents it was “All in the Family night” on TV.

We loved this show for completely different reasons, but we all agreed the show was fabulous.

My father and mother loved Archie and Edith. These two characters reflected…

--

--

Aslynn Roe 🐈

I am a listener of culture, history, media, and politics. Follow me, and we will go somewhere. Finding out where is half the fun!